top of page
  • philspector

Bill Stone - "Stone" (1970) Online interview - June 2019

Where were you born and in which year ? Old Town, Maine, USA Did you have a musical childhood ? Played trombone and piano Did you parents listened to music ? Father played trombone, mother, piano.   What exactly ? Big band, musicals, and swing were their preference

Do you have brothers and/or sisters ? If yes did they influenced you in your musical taste ? My sister played the guitar when she was in high school and claims she will take it up again.

What were the first records you bought with your own money ? Donovan and Alan Sherman

You were a teenager while the Beatles exploded in the USA. What do you remember of this ? Did you love them, watch them on the famous Ed Sullivan show in 1964 ? I remember the “invasion.”  I was more into folk music so it took a while to warm up to them.

When did you decide to learn an instrument and why ? Which instrument was it ? Guitar ? After taking trombone and piano lessons in elementary school I taught myself guitar when I was in high school.

As a teenager what were your favorite singers/group ? And why ? Bob Dylan, Peter, Paul and Mary, and especially Donovan.  Not sure why.

Did you start playing music by yourself, or did you already in the beginning start to play in bands ? In school ? If yes, what were the names of the bands you played with ? I played in small folk groups, generally three or four people.  Occasionally I soloed.  Pretty much still do.

Did you record some music in studio (professional or not) with those bands ? If yes did you pressed those songs on vinyl ? I never recorded anyone until recently.  See Stonequarryband.com

When did you start writing original songs ? High school.

Did you play them alone or in bands ? Both

Did you played live as a teenager ? Did you liked it ? If yes where did you play ? My first “gig” was with a group at bean supper for hunters at 5:00 am.

Did you go to University ? If yes what did you studied ? Did you have plans of having a "regular" carrier or did you hoped of becoming a professional musician ? I have a doctorate.  Left music as a profession in to become an educator and now as I scale back my professional activities I am doing more music.

Did your parents let you do what you wanted then or did they influenced your choice ? Encouraged my music but also encouraged realism.

Were you concern by the political turmoil of the sixties ? Were you concern in maybe going to Vietnam ? Or maybe you knew someone who went there (friends or family) ? My health did not allow military service but I was politically active. In high school I thought we should be in Vietnam but once in college realized how wrong it was.

It seems that "Bill Stone" was your first published records. How and why did you choose to record those songs ? Not sure.  I did not have a huge number of original tunes.

Where did you record ? Do you remember the technology behind it ? Console, Amp, Guitars etc... ? Who played with you on it ? Did you play regurlarly with them, or was it just for the moment, just for the record ? We recorded on a small Panosonic, two track reel to reel machine.  The musicians donated their skills for the album and then we went our separate ways.  We did the music first and then I added the vocals some months later.  

Was there a specific idea behind the album and the front cover drawing ? Who did it ? Doug Bane drew the picture and Alan Bray designed the cover.  Both donated their services.  I’m not sure there was any overriding concept that guided anything except the romance of doing an album of the songs I’d written.  Things sort of evolved as they happened.

How many copies were pressed ? Did you sold them at gigs or just gave them to friends and family ? I don’t recall how many were pressed.  It got a limited play on local radio and I promoted it while I soloed.

So did you gigged near where you live to make people know about the record ? Or maybe elsewhere in the USA ? I played around Portland, Maine, USA, near where I attended college.  I couldn’t get a job teaching so I supported my wife and I playing in local bars.  I tried teaching fifth grade and hated it so headed for Colorado to do music.  It was clear I didn’t have the talent to go beyond local bars so I went back to graduate school and got a guidance degree and spend most of my career in high schools.

Did you succeed in selling almost every copy of the album ? No

Did you alway record songs even if you didn't pressed them on vinyl ? Did you continue after the Lp until today ? I’ve forgotten most everything I’ve written but the interest in the album is inspiring my to dust off the old tunes.

Did you succeed in living thanks to your musical talents or did you have a day-to-day job ? I made a living at first but knew my prospects were limited.

What does your family think of this record ? If you have children today, what do they think about it now ? They’re amused.

Do you have more orignal songs in the vault today ? Yes Will it possible to hear them ? I do and now plan to do some recording.  See Stonequarryband.com and be patient until I do some more recording.

232 vues0 commentaire
bottom of page