top of page
  • philspector

Lindell "Diamonds in The Desert" (1979)


Online interview with Steve Lindell, leader of the band and songwriter of all the songs too (October 2019).


Where were you born ? In Louisville, Kentucky right? And in which year ?


I was born in 1945 in LaGrange KY (Oldham Count)

Did you leave in a musical family ? Did your parents and sisters/brothers listen to music or played music ? I read somewhere about your brother Jim and his band the Mystic's. Is Jim older than you ? What did you remember about him and his band ?


My parents did not play any instruments. My brother, Jimmy (born in 1937) played guitar. I used to carry his guitar to the truck so he could go to his gig. That inspired me and was a way out of the "hollar" (valley) where we lived. The original Mystics was a show band that traveled extensively. They broke up because Jimmy hired so many good musicians that were better than him that they revolted and became "The Heavyweights."  My version of The Mystics came much later.

What was the moment music, and more specially rock'n'roll became an important part of your life ?


The first time I heard Buddy Holly playing "Peggy Sue" I knew I wanted to be part of that scene. I was around 9 or 10.

When did you start learning to play music ? Did you first start with guitar ? Did you learn by yourself or did someone helped you learn how to play ?


I started out singing at age 4 when I'd go to bars with my daddy. I would sing for tips.  Then I picked up a guitar at 14 when my voice changed. It was either play a guitar or stay home. Jimmy taught me a lot but I play by ear, cannot read music. In 1987 I broke my finger and had to play keyboard until it healed.

Did you felt the importance of the British Invasion in early to mid sixties ? Did you loved them immediately ?


In fact i never has been a fan of the British Invasion stuff.

Did you play solo or in bands while in high school ? If yes what were the name of those bands and do you remember with whom you played with ?


I had a band, The Renegades, in high school. We played the teen club in Oldham County. The players were Jimmy Truman, Coleman Smith, John Paul Staten and my brother.  We hired my brother and he FIRED me ! 

How did you formed this new version of the Mystic's in 1968 ? With whom ? Did you played original music or covers ? If covers, which ones ?


I didn't put the new version of The Mystics, my brother Jimmy did that and he decided to have me as the leader. He opened an agency called Entertainment Inc. We played covers such as Temptations, Top 40 Soul music etc..  We were well rehearsed, doing steps and such.

How did you decide to record your single on Trump records in 1968 ? Did they contacted you for a deal ? Or was it the other way around ?


I wrote the two songs ("What About Our Love" b/w "Ragtime") and went into the studio (Allen Martin) to record. They gave me the label Trump (wish it didn't have that name  today - laughs)

Why did the Mystic's disbanded ? Were you then in college or not ?


Before I recorded on Trump I had gone to the west Coast Hollywood to pursue music.   I got a draft notice and had to come home. The Mystics disbanded before I left to go to California.

Were there hope for you to have a professional musical career ? Or did you wanted to have a "real" job through college ?


I didn't go to college. While in California I worked with a band called Paul Little Chief & the Young Lions. We worked clubs in Orange County and North Hollywood. I did very well : brand new red Pontiac Bonnieville convertible and a red guitar too ! I had to leave this behind when I got my draft notice. Then i did two years in the Navy. It's when i did got out of the Navy that i formed the New Mystics (i added the New because there were another band called the Mystics) and went on to record that single on Trump label.

I read somewhere on a album by the Buckwheat ("Charade" in 1972) that there is two songs by a Steve Lindell. Is it you ? If yes what did you do between the Mystic's and the writing of those songs ? Did you always wrote songs ? Were you an official part of the Buckwheat band ? How did you met them ?


After two years, my first marriage failed so I left the band and went back to California. I hooked up with a group and went to San Diego where I saw a group called White Picket Fence who became Buckwheat.  They did two of my tunes under the London label.   I met them the second time in Oregon. I had then a band up there called Fanny Buck, all original music. Unfortunatly we never recorded.  The band was comprised of : Mark Marcellino, Jay Lundell, Kenny Lomax and me. I actually met Mark in Hawaii where we were with other bands then we came home with the TNT company.

What is the story behind the "Diamond in The Desert" album ? Did you came back to Louisville then decide maybe to record something there with your family ? Or were you still on the west coast when you planned to go back home and recorded an album ? Were the songs written before the recording or as the recording was being made ? Was there a link between all those songs ? What did you think of your musical journey back then ?


My seconnd marriage failed so I went back to California again and did a lot of writing. I also joined a band called The Stallions in Hollywood. I Got fed up with the scene and decided to go back home. There, i put the Lindell band together. Robin Costello, my then girfriend an the time, helped me in the creation of the "Diamonds in the Desert" album. Most of the tunes were written when I was in California and Oregon. The Desert part of the name is from Tuscon Arizona. It was a family affair with Jimmy (my brother), Robbie Lindell (Jimmy's son) and Cathy Lindell (Robbie's wife). Robbie played also drums with some local bands and mostly always with Jimmy too.

What is the Got Dog Records label ? Did you created it ? Was there other records distributed by this label, or was it only a one shot ?


Easy answer (laughs) : Got Dog records was because I had a dog !

What do you remember about the recordings ?  Who is Gary Falk and where/what was is Falk studio like ? Recordings were made live in studio or with a lot of overdubs ? How long did it took to record it ?


Not much memories beside that Gary Falk owned the studio (he is still doing recording and is still well known). His studio was in his garage and he would have to stoke a stove to warm it up. He also played sax on the album.

Did you continue a long time as Lindell ? Did you recorded other songs (before or after the album) ?


Lindell played for several years. Country clubs, bars, private events etc... We did not record any other songs after the album. We broke up after Robbie and his wife (Cathy) ended their marriage. Robbie just lost it.

Did you continue to play live ? Was it more difficult in the eighties ? Were you always a professional musician or did you have a regular job and stayed in Louisville to form a family (already with Lisa) ?

The 80s were difficult.  When I got out of the Navy things had changed. Music was taken over by the Brits and disco. The polished steps and soul just weren't there anymore.  I played locally in many bars with several bands. At certain times I have done a single act too.


Feel free to add anything else you want. If you play live or have new records !


Met Lisa (my actual wife) when we were teenagers but nothing came from our meeting.  Fast forward and I ran into her in 1987. Realized I knew her from years ago.  We've been together ever since. I did go back on the road to tour from 1987 - 1990. Worked for an agent out of Appleton Wisconsin. He would send my trio to North Dakota in the middle of winter. When I decided to marry Lisa I came off the road and opened an electric repair company since I was an electrician by trade. Lisa and I played together as The Steve Lindell Band for many  many years. Bars, club, private parties etc... I have also recorded four CDs that are full of original music. We still have a jam every week but don't play out much. Moving all the equipment is difficult. We recently found a drummer who is amazing, so much so that I bought a brand new Fender Telecastser in mist green!!

235 vues0 commentaire
bottom of page